Our Students’ Excellence

The CGO provides an academic community that is mutually supportive and encourages students to engage in their community and excel academically. Below is a partial list of awards that CGO members have earned during their time at the University of Oregon


Nina Sobatka and Jan Raether receiving their awards.

AIPAC Campus Activist of the Year (2014)

Alanson H. Kleinsorge Political Science Scholarship (2013)

American Rhodes Scholarship Finalist (2014)

AXA Community Achievement Scholarship (2015)

Bess Templeton Cristman Award (2015, 2017)

Boren Scholarship (2013)

Bowerman Scholarship (2015)

California Scholarship Federation (2012)

Carlton Raymond and Wilberta Ripley Savage Endowment for International Relations and Peace grant for a Genocide Prevention Initiative (2014)

Carnegie Council Ethics Fellow for the Future (2014, 2015)

Centurion Award (2014 [3], 2015, 2016 [5], 2018[2])

Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship

Chinese American Fund Scholarship (2015)

CIEE Lift Scholarship for Language (2013)

Clark Honor’s College Study Abroad Research Grant (2014)

Clio Award, Department of History (2014)

Daly Fund (2012)

UO Dean’s Service Award (2016[3], 2018)

Diversity Excellence Scholar (2012, 2015)

CGO student staffer Mike Weinstein presents a paper at a UNESCO conference in Bangkok, Thailand, Spring 2013

CGO student staffer Mike Weinstein presents a paper at a UNESCO conference in Bangkok, Thailand, Spring 2013

Donald Dushane IV Memorial Scholarship (2012)

Elks National Scholar (2012)

Filipino Business Women’s Association Scholarship (2013)

Filipino Chamber of Commerce Scholarship (2013)

Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowship (FLAS) (2015)

Fosdick-Oliphant Scholarship (2014, 2015)

Freedman Intern Fellowship (East Asia) (2015)

Freeman Award (2014)

Freshman Enrichment Award (2015)

Gerlinger Cup (2016)

Global Oregon Undergraduate Award (2014)

Global Oregon Undergraduate Summer Award (2012)

Grace Miller Economics Scholarship (2015)

Hildegard Kurz Foreign Language (2014)

Holzman Family Award in Geography (2013, 2014, 2015)

Honors College Thesis Research Grant (2015)

Humanities Program Scholarship (2014, 2015)

J&E Zimmerman Scholarship (2013)

Japanese Representative Office of Oregon in Tokyo (2015)

Jewish World Watch University Fellow (2012)

Jim Buch Award (2013, 2014)

John R. Moore Scholarship (2014)

Joseph K. Starr Scholarship (2012)

Kaiser Permanente Health Care Career Scholarship (2015)

Kaneta Foundation Scholarship (2013)

Kevin Ales Memorial Award (2012)

Lake Oswego Women’s Club Scholarship (2015)

Leon Culbertson Scholarship (2012, 2015)

Marion Hearn Scholarship (2012)

Mary Corrigan and Richard Solari Scholarship (2012)

National Honor Society Scholarship (2012)

National Institutes of Health Postbac IRTA Research Fellowship   (2018[2])

Neil D. Blackman Political Science Scholarship (2014)

Oregon Realtors Scholarship (2012)

Paul Olum Award (2015, 2018)

Phi Beta Kappa (2015[2])

Portland Rotary Scholarship (2012)

Presidential Scholarship (20120, 2015)

Rippey Scholarship (2012, 2014)

Rotary Merit Scholarship (2015)

Savage Endowment for International Relations and Peace Student Fellow (2013)

Scoville Peace Fellowship (2017)

Sheppard Family Scholarship for Study Abroad (2013)

SIT Study Abroad (2012)

Stern Fellow for International Human Rights (2013, 2014, 2015,

Stern Oxford Fellow (2013[2], 2015[2], 2016, 2017, 2018)

Summit Scholarship  (2015[3])

Theresa Kelly Janes Mothers’ Club Scholarship (2014)


Brittany Lang, one of 25 Ducks who will change the world!

Truman Fellowship Finalist (2016)

UO Alumni Association’s one of “25 Ducks Who Will Change the World” (2014)

UO Mothers’ Club Award (2014)

UO Study Abroad Photo Contest, 2nd place (2014)

Vernon Barkhurt Sophomore Award (2012, 2016)

Violet Richardson Soroptimist Award (2015)

Willma Wittemyer Memorial Scholastic Achievement Prize (2013)

Wilson Cup (2014)

Many CGO Students are recipients of Resident and Nonresident Deans’ and General University Scholarships.